General Information for Entering Hungary

Hungary is a Member State of the Schengen Agreement as of 21 December, 2007. From that time visas and residence permits issued by one of the Schengen Member States may be used to enter and stay in Hungary, and visas or residence permits issued by Hungarian authorities are - as a general rule - also valid for the entire Schengen Area.

As of December  2011, 26 states are part of the Schengen Area: 22 states of the 27 members of the European Union (Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden) as well as Norway, Iceland, Switzerland and Lichtenstein. Croatia is as of 1st January 2023 part of the Schengen Area. (For the time being 4 member states of the European Union, i.e. Bulgaria, Cyprus, Ireland and Romania do not issue Schengen visas.)

The Schengen regulations are only applicable for visits not exceeding 90 days. Rules for a stay of more than 90 days are laid down by the national law of the member states concerned.


How to Apply for Visa